2017 Award Winners

The ISBF has expanded its award programs and added two new awards this year. The award categories include A) Senior Investigator Award, B) ISBF’s young investigator awards, and C) Student Travel Awards. The awards will be presented at the Biofabrication 2017 Conference in Beijing, China. An overwhelming number of applications was received for each award category. The ISBF Awards Committee has thoroughly reviewed and selected the awardees. The winners of the ISBF awards are shown below. 

A) ISBF Senior Investigator Award 

Awardees: Dr.Wei Sun

Dr.Wei Sun is an appointed Albert Soffa Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Drexel University, and National “Thousand-Talents” Distinguished Professor and Director of Biomanufacturing Engineering Research Center, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. Dr. Sun’s research has been on Biofabrication, Bio-3D Printing, Computer-Aided Tissue Engineering, CAD/CAM, and Additive Manufacturing. His research has been sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Institute of Standard and Technology (NIST), Army Research Laboratory (ARL), Johnson & Johnson (J&J), the Chinese Natural Science Foundation, the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology, and the Chinese Ministry of Education. Dr. Sun has published 450+ journal and conference papers/abstracts, 60+ patent applications, and conducted 260+ invited national and international presentations in the field of his research. Dr. Sun is the Founding President for International Society of Biofabrication (2010-2014), and currently serving Editor-in-Chief for international journal Biofabrication.  

B) ISBF Young Investigator Award 


1st Place: Yeong-Jin Choi, Postech, Pohang, Korea

Yeong-Jin Choi
Graduate Student
Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH)
South Korea

Yeong-Jin Choi received his B.S. (2012) from division of Biomaterial Engineering at Kangwon National University, Korea. He is currently pursuing his PhD degree under the supervision of Prof. Dong-Woo Cho in Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH), Korea. His research interests focus on fabrication of 3D functional living tissue/organ by 3D cell printing for biomedical applications. 

nd Place: Christopher Highley, University of Pennsylvania, USA

Christopher Highley, PhD
Postdoctoral research fellow
Department of Bioengineering, University of Pennsylvania


Chris Highley is a postdoctoral research fellow in the Department of Bioengineering at the University of Pennsylvania. He received a bachelor’s degree in Biomedical Engineering from Duke University and a doctorate in Biomedical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University. His primary research interests are in the development of materials and fabrication technologies to enable the design and construction of complex cellular and material systems, with the goal of addressing fundamental and translational problems in biomedicine.

3rd Place: Almoatazbellah Youssef, Wurzburg University, Germany

Almoatazbellah Youssef
Graduate Student
Department of Functional Materials, Würzburg University Hospital Germany

Almoatazbellah Youssef is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Functional Materials at the Würzburg University Hospital. He studied medicine at Ain Shams University in Cairo, Egypt, and graduated as a physician in 2011. Afterwards, he worked for two years in Alhelmya Military Hospital, one of the largest trauma centers in Cairo, as an orthopedics resident. He obtained a master’s degree in Life Sciences from Würzburg University, Germany, and his interest in regenerative medicine lead him to start a Ph.D. in the Biofabrication Group with Prof. Paul Dalton. His research involves the fabrication of scaffolds using melt electrospinning writing.

C). ISBF Travel Award for the 2017 Biofabrication Conference

Travel Awardees:

1) Chen Chen, Utrecht University, Netherlands

2) Vera Guduric, BioTis, INSERM U1026, Universit? de Bordeaux, France

3) Dhoolappa Melinamani, Shivamogga, India

4) Khoon S Lim, University of Otago, New Zeland

5) Riccardo Levato, Utrecht University, Netherlands

6) Liwei Yan, Sun Yat-sen University, Guangdong, China

7) Negar Motayagheni, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, USA

8) Paweena Diloksumpan, Utrecht University, Netherlands

9) Ricardo Ribeiro, New castle Univerisity, UK

10) Rong Wang, Maastricht University, Netherlands

11) Sejeong Yoon, Pohang University of Science and Technology, South Korea

12) Yufei Ma, Xi’an Jiaotong University, China

ISBF Awards Committee:

Giovanni Vozzi (Chair), University of Pisa, Italy 
David Dean, The Ohio State University, USA 
Paul Dalton, University of Würzburg, Germany 
Roger Narayan, UNC School of Medicine, USA 
Sang Jin Lee, Wake Forest School of Medicine, USA 
Utkan Demirci, Stanford University, USA 

WFIRM Young Investigator Award at the 2017 Biofabrication Conference

Awardee: Miguel Castilho, PhD

Miguel Castilho, PhD
Postdoctoral Researcher
Department of Orthopaedics, UMC Utrecht, Netherlands
Department of Orthopaedic Biomechanics, Eindhoven University of Technology

Miguel Castilho is a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Orthopaedics, UMC Utrecht, Netherlands, and at the Department of Orthopaedic Biomechanics, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands. Originally from Lisbon, Portugal, and trained as a mechanical engineer, he completed his PhD studies in biomedical engineering (cum laude) in 2015, at the Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. Between 2012 and 2014, he was a visiting research scholar at the University of Würzburg, Germany, and worked in a biomaterials company for the development and CE marking of tissue-engineered bone substitutes. He is currently researching the generation of cartilage and bone tissue equivalents by applying innovative bioprinting technologies, and simultaneously he is a teacher at the first international Masters in Biofabrication, at Utrecht University. Miguel has published his research in high impact journals within the field of biomanufacturing and bioprinting and he is an active contributor to international scientific conferences in the field.

IOP Poster Award at the 2017 Biofabrication Conference

The winner will be announced at the Biofabrication Conference.

  • DAYS
Key Dates

  Abstract continue accepting
Deadline for early registration
  September 15, 2017